Almost Oatmeal Raisin Paleo Cookies

8 10 2009

This is my version of the Son of Grok’s Caveman Cookies.

You will need:

1/2 cup pitted dates that you chop into chunks

3/4 cup almonds

1/4 cup macadamia nuts

1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1 teaspoon coconut oil

1 Egg

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 tsp cinnamon

 

How to prepare:

Put nuts, dates, coconut, oil, and cinnamon in the food processor with the S blade on it.  Pulse until nuts and dates are broken down and it resembles loose crumbs. 

crumbs

Pour into mixing bowl and add in egg and raisins.  Use your hands to mix together. 

mix_cookies

Use an ice cream scoop to get uniformly sized cookies.  Form into patties like you would burger meat.  You should be able to make about 6-8 cookies. 

cookie_scoop

Put on ungreased baking sheet into an oven that you have heated to 350.  Space evenly on the cookie sheet.

raw_cookies

  Bake for about 30 minutes.  You will know they are done when they look golden brown and delicious.

Cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

cookies_rack

Actions

Information

11 responses

1 11 2009
Judie

I tried these this afternoon as today is Day #1 of my Paleo challenge through my Crossfit gym. They were very good the only problem I had was all my raisins seemed to pop out and not stick in the cookie, resulting in burnt raisins! They also didn’t seem to need the full 30 minutes.
I will try these again with trying to get my dry ingredients broken down a tad more!

15 11 2009
michal

thanks for this great recipe!

i made them twice already and here are some ideas on what has gone really well with this

shredded carrots
coconut milk
tsp ginger
vanilla extract
fresh blueberries

just a thought..

16 11 2009
Christian Hampshire

These are outstanding. Didn’t need the full 30 minutes as well. Going to play around with the time. Mine didn’t turn out as pretty as your pictures, but tasted damn nice.

16 11 2009
paleomama

I’m so glad you like them! I moved sites, by the way. I am now at http://paleomama.com if you want to update your link or reader. I have new recipes posted there!

5 12 2009
Almost Oatmeal Raisin Paleo Cookies | CrossFit Toronto

[...] tasty, gluten-free recipe was found over at Paleo Mama’s Cave Chick Cuisine. [...]

2 01 2010
stephanie

loved these a little bit underbaked :) sooo good! Thanks for sharing! i will go find your new blog :)

1 08 2010
Perfect Health Diet » Puzzler of the Day

[...] recipe has a lot of fructose and omega-6 fats – not recommended.  Andrew’s Paleo Cookies and Paleo Mama’s Almost-Oatmeal Raisin Cookies look better. But, since cookies are for kids and kids love chocolate chip cookies, we’ll go with [...]

3 12 2010
Richard

These look amazing. Now to talk the wife into making them for me…

6 02 2011
Wendy

I just made these and they are amazing! I adjusted the cinnamon to 2 tsps and cooked them at 325 degrees for 22 minutes. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!! :)

3 03 2011
Angel

Made these last night, Blended up the nuts in a blender just fine , and I also didn’t need the full thirty minutes. I just slightly overcooked them at 20 minutes. They were a little burned but the slightly burned taste blended well with the nutty flavor – kind of tasted like roasted nuts! In the morning I broke the cookies up into a bowl of almond milk with a banana and blueberries it looked almost like granola cereal again. I felt like I was cheating! Thank you so much for that, you may have saved my paleo cheat binge!

10 06 2012
LaneHolloway.com - Boiled Eggs, Fried Chicken, and Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

[...] found the almost oatmeal raisin cookies recipe and thought, you know?  I love oatmeal raisin cookies.  If this recipe can come close to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

